Tonight, the Governing Board and I would like to begin by recognizing an amazing student from Pueblo High Magnet School who was one of only 12 students in the country chosen to travel to China for a STEM program.

Myleesa Truitt is a junior at Pueblo. She is interested in pursuing a career in the STEM field. Myleesa, will you come to the podium?

Students had to apply to the US China Youth Space Exchange, which had contacted Congressman Grijalva's office about getting the information to students within their district who had an interest in STEM and who were already involved in a STEM program at school.

Myleesa traveled to China for a 12-day journey in early August. Students went to research and education centers, the rocket launch center, historical and cultural sites such as the Great Wall, Forbidden City and Chengdu Panda Exhibit.

At the launch center students learned about the U.S. and Chinese space programs and were able to enhance their STEM education skills.

I would like to have her tell us what her favorite parts of the trip were and what she learned while there.

**Congratulations!** 

Next we would like to highlight the accomplishments of two of our Purchasing department staff.

Diana Kerfoot and Kevin Oster, would you please come forward. Diana and Kevin recently reached the highest level of achievement in the area of procurement by gaining national certification as Certified Professional Public Buyers or CPPB.

The Universal Public Procurement Certification Council is an independent entity formed to govern and administer the Certified Public Procurement Officer and CPPB certification programs, which are highly regarded and respected among procurement professionals and employers in the public sector.

The certification process involves many hours of study over a six to nine month period culminating with a 190 question exam. Successful certificants are required to continue professional development activities and recertify every five (5) years to maintain certified status. Both Diana and Kevin maintain membership in The Institute for Public Procurement (NIGP) Copper Chapter here is Southern Arizona.

Diana Kerfoot has been with the District's Purchasing Department since 2012. She supports our Technology Services group as well as many other District departments and sites.

Kevin Oster has been with the District's Purchasing Department since 2012. He supports our Operations and Interscholastics group as well as many other District departments and sites.

Thanks, for all the hard work you do every day and for continuing your own professional development to benefit not just yourselves but TUSD, also.

The Board and I would like to call Brenda Dickason forward.

Brenda is a 7<sup>th</sup> grade science teacher at Safford K-8 Middle Magnet School. Brenda was one of more than 500 applicants from over 12 countries to Honeywell Hometown Solutions vying for the opportunity to attend the Honeywell Green Boot Camp in San Diego in June.

Brenda was one of only 70 chosen! According to Honeywell, her selection was based upon the work she does with her students at Safford and the points she scored on her application.

She was able to attend the week-long course on energy and the environment.

According to Brenda she gained a lot of information that she is going to use during this school year.

I would like to have her tell us a little about what she learned and what she is currently working on with her students.

Congratulations – and thanks for putting in all the extra effort to enhance your students' learning experiences.

Each month, a K-12 teacher in southern Arizona is selected by Tucson Values Teachers' board of directors from nominations submitted to win a TVT Teacher Excellence Award sponsored by OfficeMax. Winners receive a \$100 gift certificate from OfficeMax and are featured on the Tucson Values Teachers website.

Marshall Elementary second grade teacher, Cindy Barnett, was just selected as a Tucson Values Teachers/OfficeMax Teacher Excellence Award winner.

Cindy was surprised by TVT at the school on Tuesday, the 26<sup>th</sup> of August.

Cindy will you please come up and join me?

Cindy was nominated by Carolyn Schulter who wrote, "Mrs. Barnett is a wonderful teacher and begins the year with a warm welcoming classroom. Her goal for the year is to have every student succeed. At the end of the school year her students always as her if she can teach them again next year. Her students love her, she gets along great with her fellow teachers, and parents are always pleased with how willing she is to help her students. Overall, Mrs. Barnett is one of the most amazing teachers and deserves recognition for all that she does."

As part of the honors, Cindy also received a Teacher Excellence Award plaque, flowers and school supplies.

Congratulations

Finally, the Governing Board and I would like to recognize some of our schools and their principals and staff that made great gains in student achievement and have been awarded letter grades accordingly.

The schools and principals are:

Banks – Attending: Tom Melendez (Teacher) – went up from letter grade C to B Borman - Attending: Kathy Sisler - went up from letter grade B to an A Carrillo – Attending: Lori Conner – achieved an A designation for the 2<sup>nd</sup> straight year Cholla – Attending: Frank Armenta – went up from letter grade C to B Davidson – Attending: Sheila Govern – went up from letter grade C to B Dodge – Attending: Daniel Schulter – achieved an A designation for the 3<sup>rd</sup> year in a row! Drachman – Attending: Jesus Celaya – WOW! Went up from letter grade C to A Kellond – Attending: Deanna Harris – achieved an A designation for the 2<sup>nd</sup> year in a row (under Scott Hagerman) Lineweaver – Attending: Lisa McCorkle and Mary Anderson, the former principal – went from B to A Marshall – Attending: Christopher Loya – another couple of WOWS here – went up two levels from D to B and... Mission View – Attending: Meg Cota – also went up two levels from letter grade D to B Palo Verde – Attending: Eric Brock – went up from letter grade B to A Sabino – Attending: Matt Munger – achieved an A designation for 3<sup>rd</sup> straight year Sam Hughes – Attending: Janet Jordan – achieved an A designation for 3<sup>rd</sup> year in a row! Sewell – Attending: Robert Jewett – achieved an A designation Soleng Tom – Attending: Oscar Dotson – achieved an A designation for 3<sup>rd</sup> year in a row Tolson – Attending: Ryan Wilson – went up two levels from a D letter grade to B! University – Attending: Dean Packard – achieved an A designation for 3<sup>rd</sup> year in a

## row

Vail – Attending: Theresa Leal-Holmes – went up from C letter grade to B Vesey – Attending: Anna Warmbrand – went up from C letter grade to B

---End of Report---