Tucson Unified School District No. 1 Governing Board Special Meeting Catalina High Magnet School Auditorium 3645 E. Pima Street Tucson, Arizona 85716

December 8, 2012 10:00 a.m.

MINUTES

Present:

Miguel Cuevas, President Michael Hicks, Clerk Adelita S. Grijalva, Member Mark Stegeman, Member [via telephone] Alexandre Borges Sugiyama, Ph.D. Member

Also Present:

John Pedicone, Ph.D., Superintendent Maria Menconi, Ed.D., Interim Deputy Superintendent Martha Durkin, Lead Legal Counsel Candy Egbert, Chief Operations Officer Abel Morado, Ed.D., Assistant Superintendent, Secondary Leadership Maggie Shafer, Assistant Superintendent, Elementary and K-8 Leadership Pamela Palmo, Interim Executive Director, Human Resources Lorrane McPherson, Interim Executive Director, Exceptional Education David Scott, Director, Accountability and Research Teri Melendez, Director, Elementary and K-8 Leadership Sam Brown, Interim Director, Desegregation Bryant Nodine, Planning & MIS Program Manager Marcus Jones, Program Manager, Bonds and Architecture Jeff Coleman, Director, School Safety, and Staff Mary Canty, District Video Producer Veronica Bustamante, Spanish Interpreter Lionor Gomez, Spanish Interpreter Lizette Perez, Spanish Interpreter SueAnne McCreery, American Sign Language (ASL) Interpreter Mary Alice Wallace, Director of Staff Services to the Governing Board Sylvia Lovegreen, Senior Staff Assistant II to the Governing Board Michele Gutierrez, Senior Staff Assistant I to the Governing Board Frances Banales, President, Tucson Education Association Alexis Huicochea, Arizona Daily Star Maria del Pilar Leon, UEFE News Services TV Channels 11/13

SPECIAL MEETING CALLED TO ORDER - 10:14 a.m.

Miguel Cuevas announced that Mark Stegeman would be participating via telephone.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Martha Durkin led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Miguel Cuevas introduced Spanish and American Sign Language interpreters who greeted the audience.

INFORMATION ITEMS

 Introductory Comments – Miguel Cuevas, President, Governing Board Information only. No action taken.

Miguel Cuevas shared introductory comments and expressed appreciation to those who came to the meeting.

2. Presentation on School Master Plan Potential Consolidations

Information only. No action taken.

John Pedicone and Bryant Nodine provided information, including an overview of the rationale and process for school consolidations. Miguel Cuevas and Adelita Grijalva commented.

RECESS SPECIAL MEETING – 10:34 a.m.

Miguel Cuevas announced the procedures and rules of decorum to be followed during the public hearing.

PUBLIC HEARING

3. Public Hearing on the School Master Plan, Closures and Consolidations Initiated by the Governing Board During Special Board Meetings on November 20 and 27, 2012

Speakers during the Public Hearing will abide by the rules governing Call to the Audience at Board Meetings as follows:

Public Participation at Board Meetings**

Members of the public may speak during the Call to the Audience portion of the agenda. The Board President shall be responsible for recognizing speakers and for maintaining proper order by setting such limitations as may be appropriate.

Any person desiring to speak shall complete the Call to the Audience card. When addressing the Board, an individual shall state his/her full name and address before going into the subject matter.

Individuals are encouraged to be brief, with a maximum time limit of 3 minutes.

Individuals attending the meeting and/or speaking before the Board shall observe rules of propriety, decorum and good conduct, and refrain from impertinent or slanderous remarks.

These rules also apply to Public Hearings.

**REF: Governing Board Policy Code No. BDAA – *Procedures for Governing Board Members*

The following individuals spoke during the Public Hearing: **Kerry Hodgkinson** – Support for Brichta and Menlo Park Schools;

Hilary Garin – Support for Carson Middle School;

Carrie Walker – Support for Corbett Elementary School:

Sharmila Dey – Support for Cragin Elementary School;

Scott Regan – Support for Fort Lowell/Townsend School:

Rose Ann Montano Lagenor – Support for Hohokam Middle School:

Carol Easterbrook – Support for Howenstine High School;

Brianne Gross – Support for Lyons Elementary School; **Elizabeth Dalgleish** – Support for Brichta Elementary School;

Mariaelda Parra – Support for Manzo Elementary School:

Claudia Perez – Support for Manzo Elementary School;

Xochiti Flores – Support for Menlo Park Elementary School;

Becky Riveras – Support for Schumaker School;

Daniel Stoker - Support for Sewell School;

Cassandra Garcia – Support for Wakefield Middle School:

Ann-Eve Pedersen – State education funding.

PUBLIC HEARING (continued)

The following individuals spoke during the Public Hearing (cont.):

Jeff Myers – Declining enrollment;

Margarita Arellanes – Corbett School closure.

Individuals whose names were called but were not present: **Scott Thompson**

RECESS PUBLIC HEARING - 11:30 a.m.

RECONVENE PUBLIC HEARING - 11:40 a.m.

PUBLIC HEARING (continued)

The following individuals spoke during the Public Hearing (cont.):

Khaled Saleem – Support for Ft. Lowell/Townsend School;

Cathy Zepeda – Budget questions; boundaries for Hohokam:

John Lampe – Howenstine High closure;

Ubaldo Martinez – Lyons School closure;

Josie Ramirez – Support for Menlo Park School;

Sandy Herfkens – Schumaker School closure;

Gina Russo Goldberg – Sewell School closure;

Patricia Burnell – Wakefield School closure:

Billy Lolos – Mexican American Studies; consolidation of support staff;

Aimee Farmer – Support for Brichta School;

Kimberly Deon – Carson School closure;

Valencia Dogan – Support for Ft. Lowell/Townsend School:

Kirsten Cummins – Support for Hohokam School;

Laureena Morgan – Support for Corbett School;

Rose Calistro – Lyons School closure;

Cesar Aguirre – Masterplan, closures and consolidation;

Nick Henry – Support for Manzo School;

Maria Reyes - Menlo Park School;

Chrissy Colombino – Support for Schumaker School;

Jean Rojo – Sewell School sports program;

Maria Oliver – Support for Wakefield School as a K-8;

Maritza Mazon – Support for Wakefield School as K-8;

Samya John – Support for Ft. Lowell/Townsend.

PUBLIC HEARING (continued)

Individuals whose names were called but were not present: Isidra Barrios; Arjun Dey; Adrienne Lewis; Carla Hawley; Linda Cato; Clarinda Rubio; John Hunnicutt

CLOSE PUBLIC HEARING - 12:58 p.m.

RECONVENED SPECIAL MEETING - 12:58 p.m.

Miguel Cuevas commented briefly prior to adjournment.

<u>SPECIAL MEETING ADJOURNED</u> – 12:59 p.m.

Approved this <u>13th</u> day of <u>August</u>, 2013.

TUCSON UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. ONE

Ву

Kristel Ann Foster, Clerk Governing Board

ba Minutes\12-8-12Special-PubHrg