Superintendent's Report 03.11.14

The Governing Board and I would like to begin tonight's meeting by recognizing two outstanding students from **Sabino High School**.

Both of these students are being honored by the **Southern Arizona chapter of the National Football Foundation and the College Hall of Fame as scholar-athletes**.

The criterion for consideration is based on 40% academics, 40% athletics and 20% citizenship ratio.

Will **Andrew Mike** and **Zach Joseph** please join me up front? According to Principal Munger:

"Andrew Mike has a cumulative GPA after the 7th semester of 3.91, which includes 8 AP level classes. He accompanied Principal Matt Munger to Dodge Magnet Middle School to read to classes for Love of Reading week. He has also helped at Sabino's Community Service Saturday events.

Andrew has always been willing to help and demonstrates the traits consistent with the 6 pillars of Character Counts.

Andrew has signed with Florida on a full ride, guaranteed football scholarship!

Zach Joseph has a cumulative GPA after the 7th semester of 4.22, which includes 7 AP level classes and he is currently taking AP Calculus BC off campus.

Zach has been seen tossing the ball around with younger kids after football games, racing kids on the track. When other players were going to the locker room or talking to family and friends, he was often seen doing things that are consistent with being a great role model and the 6 pillars of Character Counts.

He has been recommended for the AIA Scholar-Athlete Award this year.

Zach has passed on Division II scholarships because the schools' academic programs were not what he needed for his future career path."

Thanks, for being wonderful models for other students to follow.

CONGRATULATIONS, GUYS!!

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE:

The Board and I would now like to call attention to an accomplished employee.

Adrienne Magee is a teacher at Kellond Elementary School.

According to their website, the Governor's Arts Awards were established in 1981. Since that time, 158 distinguished Arizona artists, arts organizations, businesses, educators and individuals have been recognized for their passion, creativity and devotion to the excellence and diversity of Arizona's arts and cultural community.

On Tuesday, March 25, the Arizona Citizens for the Arts, the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor will present the 2014 Governor's Arts Awards at the Mesa Arts Center in downtown Mesa.

<u>Adrienne</u> has been nominated in the Arts in Education-individual category. This is presented to an educator, teaching artist, school administrator or school volunteer who has demonstrated significant support or participation in fostering excellence in, appreciation of, or access to arts education in Arizona.

Congratulations, Adrienne, it is an honor to have been nominated and we will look forward to news from the awards ceremony later this month.

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE:

Last, but definitely not least, we want to recognize the Boys Division II State Soccer Champions from Tucson High Magnet School!

I would like to ask their Head Coach, Ismael Arce, and the Assistant Coach, Julio Quintero, to join me up front as we recognize the team members.

Coach Arce listed some important achievements for his team:

- The team won both the Brandon Bean and Chris Mayer tournaments this year. They finished the season undefeated with 24 wins, 0 losses and 3 ties.
- They won state tournaments by only allowing 2 goals during state playoffs and scoring 11 goals!
- Their top striker, Julian Gaona, finished the season with 33 goals and he is only a sophomore.
- The team did not lose any player to grades and had no red cards all season.
- The biggest games were beating state champ Salpointe, twice this year and the state final was televised live. Let's call up the players and team managers.

Team Managers:

Briseida Garcia

Analis Castro

Korina Quintero

Maritza Arias

Players:

Emilio Anaya

Antony Siaha

Ronaldo Fierro

Christian Wolfe

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE:

Jacob Zepp Jose Verdugo Sorin Kristensen Alejandro "Alex" German David Fernandez Giovanni Ahumada Gabriel Zepp **Robin Thomas** Carlos Vargas **Avery Granillo Christopher Banuelos** Ricky Garcia Diaz **Emilio Villatoro Gomez** Thomas Sampson Nicholas Duarte Julian Gaona Luis Gonzalez Richard "Ricky" Martinez

Tristen Mills

CONGRATULATIONS to all of you - what an awesome accomplishment!