Tucson Unified School District No. 1
Governing Board Special Meeting
Board Room
Morrow Education Center
1010 East Tenth Street
Tucson, Arizona

January 22, 2008 6:45 p.m.

MINUTES

Present:

Alex Rodriguez, President Adelita S. Grijalva, Clerk Bruce Burke, Member Judy Burns, Member Joel T. Ireland, Member

Also Present:

Roger F. Pfeuffer, Superintendent

Patricia Lopez, Ed.D., Deputy Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer

Beatriz Rendon, Chief Executive Officer, Educational Support Services

Rob Ross, Legal Counsel

Nancy Woll, Legal Counsel

Steve Holmes, Assistant Superintendent, Teaching and Learning

Albert Siqueiros, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services

Ross Sheard, Principal Supervisor

Dea Salter, Principal Supervisor

Maggie Shafer, Principal Supervisor

Marisa Mandal, Acting Executive Director, Financial Services

Lorrane McPherson, Executive Director, Resource Development & Grants Management

Chyrl Lander, Director, Communications and Media Relations

David Scott, Director, Accountability and Research

Mary Veres, Interim Director, Technology and Telecommunications Services

Simon Threlfall, Director, Industry Strategy & Insight, Oracle Insight

Craig Stromberg, Application Sales Manager, Oracle Insight

Mark Miller, E-Rate Consultant

John Bratcher, Network Security Systems Analyst

Bob Holt, Technology Services Operations Manager

Al Manzo, Telecom Services Manager

Mary Alice Wallace, Director of Staff Services to the Governing Board

Linda Todd, Senior Staff Assistant I to the Governing Board

Steve Courter, President, Tucson Education Association

George Sanchez, Arizona Daily Star

Konstantinos Kalaitzidis, Tucson Citizen

<u>ITEM</u> <u>ACTION</u>

SPECIAL MEETING CALLED TO ORDER - 6:51 p.m.

<u>ITEM</u> <u>ACTION</u>

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Joel Ireland led the Pledge of Allegiance.

No action required.

INFORMATION ITEMS

1. Presentation by Oracle Insight

Information only. No action required.

Following introductory comments by Roger Pfeuffer, Simon Threlfall and Craig Stromberg presented a comprehensive update on the Oracle Insight analysis of the TUSD business processes and use of the PeopleSoft system.

Alex Rodriguez, Bruce Burke, and Joel Ireland commented and asked questions.

ACTION ITEMS

4.

5.

2. Resolution of Support by the Tucson Unified School District Governing Board for H.R. 648, the *No Child Left Behind Improvements Act of 2008*

Roger Pfeuffer and Bruce Burke briefly the purpose of this item. Alex Rodriguez commented.

Administrative appointments, reassignments and transfers

Replacement of member(s) on the Superintendent Search

- 3. Non-renewal of probationary teacher
- Contract Administrator/Dean, Naylor Middle School

Roger Pfeuffer recommended Charles Parisi.

Advisory Committee

Alex Rodriguez explained that pursuant to a written request, it is recommended that Rick Myers be replaced by Rob Draper as the Blue Ribbon Committee representative on this Committee. [The revised Committee list is attached and made part of these Minutes.]

Bruce Burke moved approval; Judy Burns seconded. Approved unanimously.

Removed from agenda; no action taken.

Bruce Burke moved approval; Adelita Grijalva seconded. Approved unanimously.

Joel Ireland moved approval; Judy Burns seconded. Approved

unanimously.

ITEM ACTION

STUDY/ACTION ITEMS

6. E-Rate Projects

- a) Governing Board commitment of funding for basic maintenance for Nortel Passport e-rate eligible equipment
- b) Governing Board commitment of funding for basic maintenance for e-rate eligible equipment
- Governing Board commitment of funding for e-rate application for internal connections to support cabling upgrades at school sites in the Pistor hub
- d) Governing Board commitment of funding for e-rate application for internal connections to support Local Area Network infrastructure at school sites in the Pistor hub
- e) Governing Board commitment of funding for e-rate applicant share for existing Wide Area Network (WAN) services
- f) Award of RFP 09-03-13 E-Rate Technology Solution for TUSD WAN Connectivity to Qwest Communications Corporation and to approve the commitment of FY 2008-2009 budgeted funds to be used to pay the Priority 1 applicant share for upgraded WAN, contingent upon e-rate approval at the approximate district weighted discount level anticipated here

Roger Pfeuffer, Mark Miller, Bob Holt, Al Manzo, John Bratcher and Lorrane McPherson presented information and responded to comments and questions from board members.

Joel Ireland, Judy Burns and Alex Rodriguez commented and/or asked questions.

Joel Ireland moved approval of Item Nos. 6 (a-c); Bruce Burke seconded. Approved 4-0. Judy Burns abstained.

Adelita Grijalva moved approval of Item No. 6(d); Joel Ireland seconded. Approved 4-1. Judy Burns voted no.

Joel Ireland moved approval of Item Nos. 6 (e-f); Judy Burns seconded. Approved unanimously. <u>ITEM</u> <u>ACTION</u>

STUDY ACTION ITEMS (continued)

7. Implementation of Arizona Legislature approved four-hour Structured English Immersion instructional models

Roger Pfeuffer and Steve Holmes presented information and responded to comments and questions from Alex Rodriguez, Adelita Grijalva, Judy Burns, Joel Ireland and Bruce Burke.

*Provisions of Joel Ireland's motion: ...an objection to the State's action requiring an application for funding with offset provisions along with other objections to be supplied by TUSD Legal Counsel.

**Bruce Burke's amendment: ...[approving Structured English Immersion instructional model] under protest and reserving the right to revisit the entire issue based on Arizona Department of Education funding.

Joel Ireland moved approval with provisions*; Bruce Burke seconded with an amendment**. Approved 4-1. Adelita Grijalva voted no.

<u>SPECIAL MEETING ADJOURNED</u> – 9:02 p.m.

Approved this _____ 11th _____ day of _____ March , 2008.

TUCSON UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. ONE

By Adelita Grijalva, Clerk Governing Board

ba Minutes\1-22-086Special6:45pm

Superintendent Search Advisory Committee Members

Board/Group	Name
Burke	Michael Duran
Burns	Miguel Cuevas
Grijalva	Augustine Romero
Ireland	Gloria Copeland
Rodriguez	Celestino Fernandez (Dr.)
TEA	Steve Courter
AFSCME	Brenda Lambach
ELI	Patricia J. Dienz
CWA	James Baker
SCPC	Steven C. Freeman
EEF	Naomi Karp
SSAC	Arlene Vargas
ICC	Clarence Boykins
DAC	Teresa Guerrero
BRC	Rob Draper
BFOC	Robin Hiller
Bd Audit Cte	Mark Stegeman, Ph.D.
OMA	Mary Belle McCorkle, Ed.D.
AASD	Daisy Jenkins
Mexican Am/ Raza	Julio Cammarota, Ph.D.
Indian Ed Adv Cte	Lydia Stanton
Pan Asian	Marie Hanna